Inspired by ancient and modern rhythms – from tribal beats to dubstep – Between Zero and One was written for Strike Percussion by internationally renowned New Zealand composer John Psathas. This ambitious project includes guest musicians from around the world and interactive projections by Tim Gruchy that transforms the inventive set into a work of art. Intimate moments will draw you in – the epic finale will blow your mind.

“…a standing ovation in what could be one of the [Christchurch] arts festival’s high points.” [Ian Dando, The Listener]

Since its premiere at Christchurch Arts Festival, Between Zero and One has played to audiences around the country. Also featuring incredibly unique compositions by David Downes and Jack Hooker, and guest performances by Serj Tankian (System of a Down), Pedro Caniero and Warren Maxwell, this is the first time playing in Auckland and a few months before the show travels to Shanghai, China.

Strike are New Zealand’s premiere percussion group, who have played to over a million people worldwide with their acclaimed shows Elemental and In The Cube. They blend elements of theatre, invention, dance, spectacle and humour in their stage shows- this is classical percussion music as you’ve never experienced it before.

Between Zero and One is suitable for anyone who loves music – including the sight and hearing impaired – ask Q’s box office for more information. 
Children’s tickets are $25 and the recommended age is 8+.

Strike and Bullet Heart Club have joined forces by sharing the Rangatira stage at Q Theatre to bring you two critically acclaimed shows, Between Zero and One and Daffodils for only $60 (plus booking fees). Book a double feature ticket, choose the night you'd like to see each show and save. Click here to book your Double Feature.

Between Zero and One contributors: Leila Adu - New York, Adam Page - Wellington, Serj Tankian - Los Angeles, Matt Penman - New York, Petros Kourtis - Athens, John Psathas - Wellington, Warren Maxwell - Featherston, Lara St. John & Iggy Cain - New York, Pedro Carneiro - Lisbon, Michael Gavriel - Wellington, Pei-Ching Wu - Taipei, Kostas Theodorakos - Athens, Julia Coolikova - Moscow, Louis van der Mespel - Wellington, Anna-Marie Alloway - Wellington, John Roxburgh - Wellington, Salina Fisher - Wellington, Annabel Drummond - Wellington, Sophia Labropoulou - Athens, Alex Ware - Wellington & Jack Hooker - Wellington.