Witness the evolution of technology.

This multi-genre-concert-experiment will feature a robotic bass guitarist (*spoiler alert*), invented by a kiwi engineer, performing live music in harmony with exceptional human musicians.

Can a robot play music with feeling? Will you clap for a robot? How long until robots take over?

We will question of the future of machines in art, through a sonically rich set of performances including pieces from the history of Classic, Blues, Jazz, Rock, and Experimental music.

Some of the best and most talented musicians from New Zealand have been assembled to take on this challenge: Cheryl Grice (Classical Guitar), Sean Clancy (Electric Guitar), Petr Tomek (Piano), Sam Holdom (Drums) and Ryan Cha (Calrinettist).

This will be the first, and maybe the last, performance of its kind worldwide. Join us to witness history in the making... for better or worse.

“Robot nails bass guitar sounds ... a stone cold groove” (Engadget)


Petr Tomek & MechBass
Also Sprach Zarathustra // Richard Strauss

Cheryl Grice & MechBass
Gymnopedie 1 // Erik Satie
Tango // Isaaz Albeniz
Morenita do Brazil // Giuseppe Farrauto
Asturias // Isaaz Albeniz*

Petr Tomek, Ryan Cha & MechBass
5th Symphony // Ludwig van Beethoven
Maple Leaf Rag // Scott Joplin*
Trio: Allegrissimo // Nino Rota
Libertango // Astor Piazolla

Sam Holdom & MechBass
The Imperial March // John Williams*
Spy Medley // Various artists*
Techno Medley // Various Artists*
Tetris Drum Off // Russian Folk*

Sean Clancy, Sam Holdom, Petr Tomek & MechBass
Summertime // George Gershwin*
Shred of Hendrix and Yngwie // Various Artists*
Dance of the Sugarplum Fairy // Pyotr Ilyich Tchiakovsky*
Top Gun Anthem // Harold Faltermeyer*

*Arrangements by Bryan Loh, Cheryl Grice, Petr Tomek and Sean Clancy

 PLEASE NOTE: This performance and the audience will be filmed.