Celebrating New Zealand Music with the Taite Music Prize 2024!

Last week marked the prestigious Taite Music Prize 2024 awards night, celebrating the talent and creativity of New Zealand's musical tapestry. We are incredibly honoured to have hosted this significant event at Q Theatre. Take a look below to read more about it! 

Issue date:

On Tuesday 23 April, Q Theatre was brimming with numerous incredible musicians, luminaries, and industry figures, all coming together for the awards night of Independent Music NZ's prestigious Taite Music Prize 2024

The Taite Music Prize is a hugely momentous occasion on the Aotearoa music calendar, and a chance to celebrate the rich diversity and pure talent that New Zealand's musical landscape has to offer. Each year, the event uplifts outstanding albums released in the previous 12 months and showcases exceptional local talent from across a wide range of music genres. 

Pippa Ryan-Kidd, Chairperson of IMNZ set the tone of the night with an inspiring opening speech:

IMNZ are always immensely proud to produce an Award Ceremony that reflects creativity and puts artistic talent at the very core of the event. We hope that awarding musicians for creativity and artistic merit encourages them to be innovative and progressive in their music. This is important for the evolution of music as an art form and for the growth and diversity of the industry as a whole.”

Dylan Pellet, GM of IMNZ adds: 

 "I couldn't think of a better venue to hold these awards in - Q Theatre is perfect for our community!" 

Taite Music Prize Winner 2024 - Q Theatre

 Pictured: Vera Ellen, 2024 Taite Music Prize Winner accepting her award on the Rangatira stage. Photographed by Chontalle Musson.

Additional honours of the evening included Jujulipps (Auckland Live Best Independent Debut), Teremoana Rapley MNZM (Independent Spirit Award), Cushla Dillon and Andrew Moore (NZ On Air Outstanding Music Journalism Award), and Look Blue Go Purple (Independent Music NZ Classic Record). 

Taite Music Prize 2024 Additional Winners - Q Theatre

 Pictured: Jujulipps, Teremoana Rapley MNZN, Cushla Dillon and Andrew Moore, Look Blue Go Purple. Photographed by Dave Simpson. 

Reflecting on the significance of hosting the 2024 awards night, Kate Ward-Smythe, Q's Programme Manager said:

"We are honoured to host this iconic event at Q. The Taite Music Prize is an artist-led night of celebration and we love seeing so many Independent Music NZ members filling up the venue. Looking around Rangatira and Lounge, it’s great to see connections, kōrero and our spaces overflowing with warmth and wairua." 

Taite Music Prize 2024 Lounge - Q Theatre

Image: A bustling crowd in Q Lounge! Photographed by Chontalle Musson.

Q is the Venue Partner for this very special awards evening - we'd like to congratulate all the winners and nominees, as well as IMNZ for putting together such an incredible event. 

We're looking forward to the next chapter in this storied tradition, knowing that it will undoubtedly continue to shine a spotlight on the extraordinary talent that calls Aotearoa home.