Comedy
Theatre

Dirty Work

This comedy celebrates an unsung hero and tips the modern office on its head.  In a toe-tapping twist there’s a different choir on stage every night, but none have read the script.

$30 - 65, service fees apply
80 minutes, no interval
16 June - 2 July 2023
Fri 16 Jun, 8pm - 9:20pm
Sat 17 Jun, 8pm - 9:20pm
Sun 18 Jun, 4pm - 5:20pm
Tue 20 Jun, 8pm - 9:20pm
Wed 21 Jun, 8pm - 9:20pm
Thu 22 Jun, 8pm - 9:20pm
Fri 23 Jun, 8pm - 9:20pm
Sat 24 Jun, 8pm - 9:20pm
Sun 25 Jun, 4pm - 5:20pm
Tue 27 Jun, 8pm - 9:20pm
Wed 28 Jun, 8pm - 9:20pm
Thu 29 Jun, 8pm - 9:20pm
Fri 30 Jun, 8pm - 9:20pm
Sat 1 Jul, 8pm - 9:20pm
Sun 2 Jul, 4pm - 5:20pm

This comedy celebrates an unsung hero and tips the modern office on its head. 

In a toe-tapping twist there’s a different choir on stage every night, but none have read the script!

Featuring contemporary hits from Aotearoa, India and a fresh take on classic tunes, this hilarious drama is elevated by the beauty and power of people harmonising in song.

The computers are down, and the big boss in India wants the impossible. A hapless middle manager, his unhelpful assistant and their chorus of office workers are making a mess of things, which isn’t good news for the cleaner.

Workplace hierarchies are shattered, class and culture clash, and from the chaos emerges a different way to value one another.

Born out of a collaboration with choral master John Rosser and leading choir Viva Voce and featuring over 20 people on stage, Indian Ink take things up an octave in their biggest show ever.

The company’s award-winning creative team continue to weave their magic. Jacob Rajan zooms in for a very special guest appearance; Justin Rogers returns following his brilliant performance in Mrs Krishnan’s Party and is joined by rising stars Tessa Rao and Catherine Yates.

Don’t miss this world première that finds joy in the eternal toil of work.

Creative New Zealand, Foundation North and Auckland Council.

  • Thursday 30 May 2024
    Comedy

    Sober Awkward - LIVE

    Sober Awkward - the much-loved and award-winning podcast – “Best Wellbeing Podcast” - the Australian Podcast Awards, 2023. They are are bringing their live show to New Zealand for the first time.
  • Thu 30 May, 2024
    Comedy

    Sophie McCartney: Tired & Tested

    From perky tits, to killing nits, join award-winning comedian Sophie McCartney as she ventures into the perilous world of parenthood in this rollicking new stand-up show set to test pelvic floor muscles to the max(i) pad.
  • Sat 8 June 2024
    Comedy

    Teardrops on My Dildo - Vanessa Larry Mitchell

    Fabulous, filthy and downright hilarious! Brace yourselves for a wild ride with the modern-day Queen of Sass (Winner of 'Best Comedy' Newcastle Fringe), as she takes you on a laugh-out-loud adventure of her trials and tribulations of parenting, dating and all things female.
  • 12 - 23 Jun 2024
    Comedy

    Guru of Chai

    Acclaimed as a work of genius. The contradictions of modern India, with its iPhones and ancient gods, come alive in this much-loved play from one of New Zealand’s finest performers.